[Complete entry. Transcription Copyright © the late A.J. Carter, March 2001]
BYLAUGH or Belaugh, 5 miles N.E. of East Dereham, is a parish with 21 houses, 111 souls, and 1,544a. 2r. 19p. of land, a fertile and picturesque district on the north bank of the Wensum. Charles Lombe, Esq., is the landowner, lord of the manor, impropriator, and patron of the Church, which is dedicated to the Virgin Mary, and was thoroughly repaired in 1810, when the chancel was rebuilt, and transepts added by the late Sir John Lombe. The living, a perpetual curacy, valned [sic] in 1831 at £75, has been augmented with £200, Queen Anne's bounty, and a like sum the gift of Dowager Countess Gower, which was laid out in the purchase of 53a. of land. The Rev. Louis Augustus Northgate of Foxley, is the incumbent. A large and handsome hall has just been erected, in accordance with the directions of the late Sir John Lombe, Bart., and is now nearly completed, with the exception of the park, grounds, and offices. Letters from here are forwarded by the Dereham Post.
Transcription Copyright © the late A.J. Carter, March 2001; links updated December, 2009.
1891 Census Names Index
Bylaugh Archeology [Norfolk Heritage Explorer]
More on Bylaugh [GENUKI-NFK]
More Parish Information [Geoff Lowe & Andrew Rivett]
Return to villages index
Paddy's home page